Andrea Bahm-Barker and “The Andrea Award”

Andrea Bahm-BarkerAndrea Bahm-Barker

In November 2016, the Two Rivers family was stunned by the sudden death of a cherished member, Andrea Bahm-Barker. An outstanding performer, Andrea delighted audiences with her wonderful portrayal of Miss Hannigan in our 2011 production of Annie, and Scarecrow in the 2013 staging of The Wizard of Oz.

On or offstage, Andrea’s creativity and talent were evident in every show. She was an accomplished choreographer and beloved mentor, especially to younger performers.

Andrea’s grace and warmth endeared her to cast and crew alike. Despite her many commitments, Andrea glided calmly into every rehearsal with perfect posture and a smile, radiating positive energy. With her friend and fellow choreographer, Monica, she tirelessly coached, cajoled, and coaxed the less talented among us to embrace the terrifying prospect of dancing in public!

While unfailingly professional, Andrea’s sense of fun was never far from the surface, and her antics were the stuff of many hilarious post-production stories.

The Andrea Award

Andrea’s talent and spirit has been woven into the fabric of all Two Rivers Musical Productions. As a way to commemorate Andrea’s involvement in Two Rivers, our annual award has now been named “The Andrea Award”.

The Andrea Award (funded each year by a generous donation from Tallyho Inc.), is awarded to three or four deserving area students heading to full-time post secondary education in the upcoming academic year. Award recipients are selected by the Board Members of Two Rivers Musical Productions.

Some of the criteria for selection of the recipients include a demonstrated talent, commitment and love for the arts (music, dance, drama and/or visual arts).  In addition, candidates must have participated extensively in arts activities during high school.

The 2018 Andrea Award winners were four Arnprior District High School graduates who received $500 each. The deserving winners were: Sydney Faour, Keely Henderson,Tessa Roberts, and Danielle Kubiseski.  Congratulations!!!

Previous winners of the Andrea Award have been:

  • 2017: Mallory Brumm, Paul Hrkach, Eric Kerr, and Brynn Sumner
  • 2016: Vanessa Farmer, Brittany James and Rachel Smyth
  • 2015: Michael Clarke, Katie Neill and Conor Hogan
  • 2014: Daniel Berardi, Kate Burman, Caroline Popiel and Grace Smith